Surprise Sloppy Joes

I didn’t eat many Sloppy Joes when I was a kid. I’m pretty sure the only place I ever had them was at school, because I know my mom never made them. I really had no feelings about them one way or the other, but when I saw some homemade Sloppy Joes on Pinterest, I knew I had to try them.

I mostly followed the linked recipe, but if you know much about my cooking, I’m always tweaking something here or there. And yes, I tweaked this one, too. Below is my own twist to Simply Scratch’s Lunch Lady Sloppy Joes.

olive oil
1 medium onion, finely diced

1 medium bell pepper, finely diced

1 large clove of garlic, minced
1 pkg. Jennie-O ground turkey*
1 15-oz. can of tomato sauce
1/4 c. water
1 1/4 tsp. chili powder
1-2 tsps. yellow mustard, to taste
1/4 tsp. Worcestershire sauce, to taste
salt and pepper, to taste
mozzarella string cheese
hot dog buns

Heat oil in large skillet until hot. Sauté onions and garlic in skillet with ground turkey. When turkey is fully cooked and onions are clear, drain; return to skillet.

Add tomato sauce, water, chili powder, mustard, Worcestershire sauce, salt, and pepper; bring to a boil, then reduce heat to simmer for 10-15 minutes.

While sauce simmers, slice string cheese lengthwise and place half of each stick into a hot dog bun. Toast lightly.

When sauce has finished simmering, top cheese-filled hot dog buns with the mixture and serve. (The surprise is the hidden cheesy inside.)

20121207-200750.jpg

*We’re trying to eat healthier, and it doesn’t hurt that a 20 oz. package of ground turkey is costs significantly less than a pound of lean ground beef. Plus, The Biggest Loser recommends it. 🙂

Billy said these were the best Sloppy Joes he’d ever eaten, and the boys loved them as well. It was suggested that they become “regular” menu items. I have no problem with that since they taste great, they’re easy to make, and they’re fairly healthy.

Leave a Reply

