Guacamole

I used to hate guacamole. It wasn’t until I was pregnant with my now-9-year-old that I even had a taste for it (and sour cream) at all. In the last few years, though, I’ve come to love it. I tried making it a few times before, using packets of seasoning mix I had found at Wal-Mart. It was okay, but nothing to really brag about. I generally liked the packaged (Wholly Guacamole and ALDI’s brand) kind better. Since avocados can be a little on the pricey side, I thought I’d rather eat some good pre-made guacamole than mediocre homemade stuff.

Until I watched the waiters at Cristina’s Mexican Restaurant make it at our table. That’s some of the best guacamole I’ve ever eaten! We ordered their table-side guacamole a few more times, and I studied their method and ingredients. It costs $3 more than just ordering it from the kitchen, but I chalked it up to educational costs.

Finally I felt brave enough to try it at home – with some beautiful avocados, red onion, cilantro, and limes that came in one of my produce co-op bags. I recalled their method and estimated ingredient amounts and – voila! – I recreated their recipe! It was delicious! (Maybe even better than theirs…?)

20120918-075930.jpg

2 avocados
1 lime, juiced
salt, to taste
1 medium jalapeño, finely diced
1/4 medium red onion, finely diced
5-6 sprigs of cilantro, minced

In a small bowl, combine salt and lime juice. Scoop out avocado into bowl and mash with fork until desired consistency is reached.

20120918-075640.jpg

Add jalapeño, onion, and cilantro, mixing well.

Serve with tortilla chips, dollop onto a Mexican-style soup, or use as a sandwich spread. (I’m wanting to try it in a grilled cheese sandwich…)

20120918-075737.jpg

Leave a Reply

