Cranberry Apple Crisp

I got a bag of fresh cranberries in my co-op bag a few weeks before Thanksgiving. It was a first for me, and I didn’t really know how to use them. After looking over several recipes, I decided to make a crisp for a church function. I combined elements of two different desserts and came up with my own variation. As this crisp bakes, the smells blend and fill the house with a delicious aroma worthy of a Yankee candle…

20121217-173115.jpg

4 large Granny Smith apples, peeled, cored, and thinly sliced
1 12-oz. bag of fresh cranberries, rinsed and drained
zest of one orange
1/4 c. white sugar
3 1/2 Tbsp. cinnamon*
2/3 c. quick cooking oats
2/3 c. all-purpose flour
1/2 c. butter, melted
1 c. brown sugar, packed
1 c. chopped walnuts

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

In a large bowl, mix together apple slices, cranberries, orange zest, white sugar, and cinnamon. Pour into a 9×13 baking dish and spread evenly.

In the same bowl, mix together oats, flour, butter, brown sugar, and walnuts. Stir until well mixed; spread evenly over cranberry mixture.

Bake for 40-50 minutes, or until apples are tender. Serve hot.

20121217-180649.jpg

Optional: Top servings with vanilla ice cream.

*A friend of mine recently introduced me to Saigon Cinnamon, which has a sweet-hot flavor. It’s all I’ll use now, and my boys always ask for “the good cinnamon” on their cinnamon toast or anything else that we use cinnamon on. I found mine at Costco, and it only costs $2.65 for the large bottle pictured above.

Leave a Reply

