Roasted Tomatillo Avocado Salsa

The few times I’ve tried something made with tomatillos, including my own attempt at tomatillo salsa, I have not liked it. At all. But since I keep getting tomatillos in my produce co-op box, I thought I needed to try it again… (Please know that I don’t waste things in my co-op box that I don’t like. I find a home for them.)

My good friend Julie, who just got into the co-op with her daughter and me, made something like this and posted on Facebook how good it is. Since my last attempt at finding a home for this last batch of tomatillos didn’t pan out, I decided to try them again, using Julie’s recipe as a basis for mine. What resulted was pleasantly, surprisingly good!

This recipe still needs some tweaking. Even though it was really good, I want to try using a few more tomatillos in it. (What?!? Yes!) I also want to try something different with the garlic since it charred a little too much.

20130311-205144.jpg

5 medium tomatillos, husked and washed
1 medium jalapeño
2 cloves of garlic, peeled
1/2 teaspoon olive oil
1/4 cup large diced onion
1/4 teaspoon cumin
1 Tablespoon sour cream (or Greek yogurt)
1 medium avocado, halved, pitted, and diced
1/4 cup chopped cilantro
Salt to taste

Preheat oven to 450 degrees.

Toss tomatillos, jalapeño, and garlic cloves with olive oil. Put in a cast iron skillet and cook for 10 minutes. Remove garlic and cook for additional 10 minutes or until tomatillos and jalapeño begin to blacken. Cool 10 minutes.

Squeeze garlic from charred skin into food processor. Cut jalapeños in half lengthwise. Scrape out and discard seeds. Cut jalapeño into pieces and put in food processor. Squeeze insides from tomatillos into food processor and discard skins. Purée.

Add onion, cumin, sour cream, avocado, cilantro, and salt. Pulse until well-blended.

Serve with chips or as a sauce for tacos, enchiladas, or burritos.

Serves 6-8.

Note: We did have some left over, so instead of throwing it out I refrigerated it in a Rubbermaid container. Two days later, the color hasn’t changed! I guess there’s enough acidity from the tomatillos, as well as thorough blending, that the avocado doesn’t brown. Good to know! I’ve also heard that this freezes well, but I haven’t tested that.

Leave a Reply

