Cheesy Baked Zucchini

20130723-193659.jpg

I like zucchini, but it’s been a struggle to find a way to cook it that the boys like – other than fried. They don’t like it sautéed or stir-fried. One of them likes it in zucchini bread, but we can only eat so much of that… I’ve pinned several zucchini recipes on Pinterest, but this is the first one I’ve gotten around to trying.

I wasn’t sure what they’d think of it, and I was pleasantly surprised when they both said they liked it and wanted more. I kept going back for more myself!

I didn’t follow the recipe as written. In fact, I made several changes to it. I don’t know that I’d change anything other than the thickness of the zucchini slices. Thinner slices would cook more quickly.

1 onion, diced
2 cloves garlic, minced
olive oil
3-4 zucchini, thinly sliced
2 Tbsp. chopped fresh basil
1/2 c. shredded Parmesan cheese
1 1/2 c. shredded Italian blend cheese, divided

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and lightly grease a 9×9 baking dish.

Sauté onion in olive oil; add garlic and sauté one additional minute. Remove from heat.

In a large mixing bowl, combine onion and garlic mixture, zucchini, basil, Parmesan cheese, and 1 cup of Italian blend cheese. Mix well and pour into baking dish.

Bake uncovered for 40 minutes, then top with remaining Italian blend cheese. Return to oven and bake an additional 10 minutes.

*In order to speed up the cooking time, I covered the zucchini for part of the baking time. I think that might have held a lot of the moisture in, which caused the final product to be very watery. Then again, it may just be the nature of the dish. I’ll know more after I make this a second time, which will be soon!

One thought on “Cheesy Baked Zucchini

  1. wow I am a full time cheese lover I can eat cheese with bread alone 😀 This recipe looks so yummy and tempting ! Loving the ingredients….Would make it soon I guess I would love the taste too ! Well done !

Leave a Reply

