Taco Seasoning Mix

Every once in a while I want to cook something that requires taco seasoning mix, but I don’t always have some on hand. I do have quite an extensive spice cabinet, though, and all the ingredients from this Pinterest find are in there. I’ve used this recipe for tacos, seasoning for a casserole, and in taco soup. It’s delicious and healthy – no MSG or added chemicals. Now that I’ve used it enough and have determined that it’s what I want to use from here on out, I think I might make a batch of it to store in my pantry for quick use whoever I need it. If using from a big batch of the mix, use 3 Tablespoons per pound of ground meat.

I haven’t changed any ingredients from the original recipe, but I have decreased the amount of salt and I’ve ordered them more to my “OCD” liking.

1 Tablespoon chili powder
1 1/2 teaspoons ground cumin
3/4 teaspoon table salt
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
1/2 teaspoon paprika
1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
1/4 teaspoon onion powder
1/4 teaspoon dried oregano
a pinch of cayenne pepper

Mix all ingredients well, then add to meat, sauce, or whatever you’re cooking. If adding to ground meat, add 1/4 cup water and simmer for 8-10 minutes.

One thought on “Taco Seasoning Mix

  1. Pingback: Black Bean Enchilada Casserole | Ashley's Cafe

Leave a Reply

