Roasted Radishes

I’ve never liked radishes much. I wasn’t fond of their “bite”, but I would eat small slivers occasionally. It was never something I’d willingly buy – until I kept seeing raves about eating them roasted on the “THM Beginners” Facebook page.

Review after review praised the flavor and texture, with many ladies saying they reminded them of potatoes. Potatoes? Really? This I had to try for myself!

On my next trip to the grocery store, I bought a bag of radishes. Score one point for them being rather inexpensive. One bag didn’t look like much, but since it was my first time to cook them and I didn’t want to end up with a lot of waste just in case we didn’t like them, I decided against getting two of them.

After a day or two of leaving them alone in the veggie drawer of my refrigerator, I decided to just make them and see what all the fuss was about. The recipe was basic and simple, and I couldn’t wait to try one when they came out of the oven. After they had a little time to cool down, I popped one into my mouth. 

Oh. My. Goodness. It was so good! It was soft and sweet and there was no “bite” to it. I wasn’t sure what it reminded me of, but it wasn’t a potato. I had another. And another. I made myself stop because I wanted to be sure there were enough to share with the guys – and for me to still have a full serving.

The boys looked at them and asked what they were. I didn’t want to tell them until after they had tasted them. Like me, they’re not fans of raw radishes. I told them to try a bite first, then I’d tell them. They loved them and were pleasantly surprised to learn they were radishes. They ate every bit I had put on their plates!

I must confess that my husband didn’t like them. Then again, he loves raw radishes and he just couldn’t wrap his mind around the different taste and texture. I don’t think he thought they were bad, just very different. I told him that whenever I cooked these in the future, I’d leave some raw ones out for him – for which he was grateful.

For those of you following the THM eating plan or watching your glycemic index, radishes are non-starchy vegetables with a low sugar content. (I was surprised about that since they are a root vegetable.) Cooked this way, they are an S.

Roasted Radishes

  • 1 bag of radishes (or fresh ones from the garden)
  • Olive or coconut oil
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.

Wash and dry radishes and slice off ends; cut into quarters. Toss with oil and seasonings.

Place radishes in a single layer on a baking tray. Bake for 20-25 minutes or until soft, stirring around about halfway through cooking time.

Serves 4.

Leave a Reply

