Black Bean Enchilada Casserole

We love Tex-Mex! This was one of the food choices at a night of basketball games at my son’s school. Once I tasted it, I knew I had to have the recipe. As it turned out, a friend of mine had made the restaurant pan full and donated it to the concession stand. A few months later, she made pans of it for me and two other friends – and she included the recipe. It has quickly become a family favorite! I’ve tweaked things or added an extra ingredient here and there, as is my habit, but it’s always great.

IMG_0947-1.JPG

Olive oil
1 pkg. ground turkey (or a pound of ground beef)
1 large onion, chopped
1 jalapeño pepper, chopped (optional)
1 pkg. taco seasoning mix (or make the homemade version)
1/4 c. water
1 can Ro-Tel (I purée ours and add a little extra water.)
1 can black beans, rinsed and drained
1 can Mexicorn or whole kernel corn, drained
1 can black olives, rinsed and sliced (optional)
8 corn tortillas, cut in half
1/3 block of Velveeta, sliced into thin slabs
2 c. shredded Colby jack cheese

Heat oil in a large skillet; begin sautéing onion and peppers. Add ground meat and brown until fully cooked; drain. Return to skillet and add taco seasoning mix and water. Bring to a boil, then stir in Ro-Tel, beans, corn, and olives. Remove from heat.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Place 8 tortilla halves in bottom of 9×13 baking dish. Top with half of the meat mixture, then lay slabs of Velveeta on top of that. Layer 8 remaining tortilla halves and the rest of the meat mixture, then top with shredded cheese.

Bake for 20 minutes or until cheese is melted.

*Salsa is a good substitute for the Ro-Tel, as I found out when I spilled my only can all over my kitchen floor, among other things…

*If you have fresh corn on the cob, cut the kernels off the ears and sauté them in a skillet with some onions and peppers in place of the canned corn.

Leave a comment